Moses and the Butt of god – I Fail to Understand Any of It. Really.


Exodus 33:20-23

{33:20} And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.
{33:21} And the LORD said, Behold, [there is] a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock:
{33:22} And it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a clift of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand while I pass by:
{33:23} And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts:
but my face shall not be seen.

Moses isn’t allowed to see god’s face, but is only permitted to see its “back parts” while god’s “glory passeth by”. Yikes!

Is god a woman? Let’s try on a bit of eroticism: “Wow, you’re hot, but please refrain from destroying the planet.” Weird.

If god is male, as the cruel patriarchy of the bible might lead one to conclude, it’s weirder. Why would he prance his glorious “back parts” past Moses? Certainly god couldn’t possibly be gay, as he would be an abomination unto himself. And no christian would publicly rail against gays while privately strutting his stuff.

No way. Yet, there is the biblical fascination with male genitalia, foreskin in particular.

Conflicted, hypocritical deity, or self-loathing author?


I am a thinking being. I value reason.

4 thoughts on “Moses and the Butt of god – I Fail to Understand Any of It. Really.

  1. I could not stop laughing! This is the same God that has a disturbing obsession with crushed testicles and mentions this in at least three places in the Bible. I report, you decide…

    1.”If a man’s testicles are crushed or his penis is cut off, he may not be admitted to the assembly of the LORD.” Deuteronomy 23:1

    2. “You must not offer to the LORD an animal whose testicles are bruised, crushed, torn or cut. You must not do this in your own land,” Leviticus 22:24

    3. “The Lord said to Moses, “Say to Aaron: ‘For the generations to come none of your descendants who has a defect may come near to offer the food of his God. 18 No man who has any defect may come near: no man who is blind or lame, disfigured or deformed; 19 no man with a crippled foot or hand, 20 or who is a hunchback or a dwarf, or who has any eye defect, or who has festering or running sores or DAMAGED TESTICLlES.” (Leviticus 21:16-20)

    • Oh, he has parts. A killer face that is to die for, and “back parts” paraded in private shows. It is all so utterly, over the top ridiculous, and beneath a serious philosophical argument.

Leave a Reply

