Absolute Truth. Absolute Authority. Absolutely Crazy.


My purpose in the following is not to point out any particular blog, or blogger. My concern is with the all too common irrational behavior. While I don’t necessarily believe intense religiosity creates these behaviors, I do believe religion provides a nurturing environment for the underlying psychology, thus enabling these and other social aberrations.

Absolute truth, absolute authority, and the self-righteousness they foster in the damaged, weak, or needy are dangerous.

Two days ago, on July 1, 2014, I wrote the following comment on a god blog.

humanisthuman on July 1, 2014 at 5:17 pm

No, christ, god and the crew are not noteworthy in isolation.

Hatred, cruelty, misogyny, racism, and slavery tend to turn my head. Stoning gays to death is another bible motivated social activity that I believe is entirely inappropriate. Sadly, even today some would argue the contrary.

I hear many loud voices extolling the virtues of the hatred, the manual that prescribed the abhorrent behavior, or the faith system that supports it. I hear precious few condemn the evil and the evildoers.

Two days later, on July 3, 2014, the following response was posted.

I notice, or you elude to the fact, that it is, or remains, Christianity alone that “(still) stones gays.” I am afraid that you somehow equate the Old Testament (Israel) and the (now) New Testament (including Gentiles) as the devil being in the details. Yet, you say nothing of Islam and their practices herein our modern day. How bigoted this seems to me. Do you then silently condone Islam and their raping of women, suppression of woman’s rights and their folly of condemning Christians to death all right? It would seem so. For someone who hold such high regard for “doing right and condemnation” of hatred, cruelty and such you loose creditability in not condemning all those who do so……then we can talk. For I see no reason to converse with a bigot over bigotry.

May the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob bless and keep you, and yours, always.

How about taking your bigotry and own hatred where it belongs…… to all those who perform the acts of which you despise the most… proving your distain for them by posting articles in condemnation thereto.

If anyone finds that I stated that christianity was alone in its hatred of gays, please point that out.

I am not obligated to give equal time to any other religions.

I condone rape? OYG. I’d say this is where the irrational graduates to aberrant (not scientifically, but in real world terms).


I am a thinking being. I value reason.

11 thoughts on “Absolute Truth. Absolute Authority. Absolutely Crazy.

  1. I don’t know if I am more appalled at the use of “elude” or the latent Fatwa envy in the paragraph. I’m atheist, humanist and, thankfully, English is my second language. May God B. Less. 🙂

  2. The person you quoted in your post has done a perfect example of changing the issue with an assumption, and then drawing that assumption out to an extreme conclusion. I’ve seen a lot of this, enough to the point that I’m going to remind myself to put up a post of my own about it. If you are amenable, I would like to link to this post here to provide the example.

    Unfortunately, your post can allow a conclusion that you were implying that every faith that uses the Bible still stones gays. “Stoning gays to death is another bible motivated social activity[,” is the quote I’m referring to in your post. I say “can allow” because the word “bible” was used in the same sentence as “Stoning gays to death[.]” Your statement is by no means exclusive to Christianity hating gays, something by which the responder to your post relies on in his post. Sadly, one cannot always intuit the possible incorrect assumptions that others will utilize in their responses. Therefore, at the least I can safely say this one is not on you at all.

    I find it interesting that the responder picks two ideas that you don’t refer to at all to bash you with. Using his logic, I could say that this entire post supports Zoroastrianism because nobody mentions it. Furthermore, if you were on a Christian blog, then shouldn’t it be assumed the faith under discussion is “Christianity” unless otherwise noted?

    I am dismayed that this responder would choose to ignore your point and treat you without the courtesy his or her own faith demands. The flippant part of me would have responded to the person, “Thank you for inviting me to take my bigotry here. I think it’s found a nice home.” However, treating this person in kind I think would only reinforce the bias. Happily though, it’s readily apparent from that person’s post that he or she is being unreasonable. Have you considered giving a measured response to further highlight the responder’s animosity?

    • siriusbizinus,

      Thank you for your thoughtful remarks. Feel free to reference it in your own blog.

      …changing the issue with an assumption, and then drawing that assumption out to an extreme conclusion.

      In degrees and with varying subject matter, I see this in most of what is presented as “argument”. It bears little or no resemblance to an honest discussion of opposing views.

      Unfortunately, your post can allow a conclusion that you were implying that every faith that uses the Bible still stones gays.

      Indeed, and I accept responsibility for that. By way of understanding my feelings, I offer this. Replace “faith” with “person” and you draw close to where I tread. Yet it is not, nor will it ever be, my intent to direct responsibility for biblical atrocities on those that do no harm, support no harmful act or consequence of belief. Perhaps I generalize for brevity when being more verbose would serve better.

      I will not, however, hesitate speak directly of persons who profess, support, or execute hate. Scott Esk professing his support of killing gays by stoning being one example.

      I take a stance against support of the bible as the written word of a loving deity when that collection is rife with hate and violence. These folks (ooops, generalizing) wish to deal in absolutes – truth, authority, power, righteousness – based in their belief in the bible. If they want the reward of that, they have to take global destruction, boiling babies, foreskin hunts, and all the rest with it.

      Using his logic, I could say that this entire post supports Zoroastrianism because nobody mentions it.

      Haha. Funny, and unfortunately true. I may find good user for that observation in the future, if you don’t object.

      Have you considered giving a measured response to further highlight the responder’s animosity?

      While I would prefer to keep this levels above, I do have my limits. My response follows.

      Seriously? You thought of that, what, a couple of days later?

      When you start quoting the Qur’an, I may have something to say to you about it.

      And from your paranoid, irrationally defensive, and irrationally accusatory state of rambling you accuse me of condoning rape? You really should seek professional help.

  3. Hi HumanistHuman. I loved your comment, yet, sadly, it was the reply that entertained me most 🙂

    I must say, despite you never saying that Christianity carried the torch on behalf of global religious barbarism and flagrant abuses of fundamental human rights, the essence of your critics response was ‘look at other religions and see that we are not as bad as they are’.

    Although I must agree that Christianity is relatively benign, especially in the comfortable United Kingdom where I reside, I think the response was motivated on the defence of the Bible and your reader appeared to miss the point. Although the followers of the god of Abraham, especially in Western nations, don’t tend to stone anyone, especially on the grounds of their sexuality – there is still a lot of religious discrimination and bigotry with regard to sexuality and it is nonetheless something of a barrier to human rights and equality which we all want to achieve. Although you refer to many other aspects of religious craziness, I do think a strong case for reforming the Bible once more to take away these passengers that are, at the very least, inspiring its followers to discriminate.

    Humanism 1 –
    Religious nut jobs 0

    • rationalhumanist87,

      Thank you very much for your thoughts. That person is consistently over the top in his comments. That makes for good fun sometimes. Unfortunately, he leans to being personally demeaning as a standard tact. I’m going to do another similar post from him. It will be more entertaining, and more sad.

      Although the followers of the god of Abraham, especially in Western nations, don’t tend to stone anyone, especially on the grounds of their sexuality…

      And the vast majority are glad that’s the case. There are those that would act differently, or at least profess that they would.. From a recent comment I made:

      Leviticus is such a wonderful, loving bedtime story. It is infrequent that U.S.politicians show their true colors, though. Scott Esk did when he advocated stoning gays to death.

      The U.S. has the “god hates fags” nuts. There’s the murder of a black man for being black. He was changed to the back of a pickup and dragged to his death. And there is so much more.

      I do think a strong case for reforming the Bible once more to take away these passengers that are, at the very least, inspiring its followers to discriminate.

      I’ve playfully suggested that, and I believe it will happen. Dinosaur petting zoos cannot continue to be taught to the gullible without a better textbook. The book isn’t the real problem, it’s the people that wish to hold it in one hand and dominate others with the other.

      Humanism 1 –
      Religious nut jobs 0

      Haha! It’s good fun, sometimes.

Leave a Reply

