Your god Makes You This Hateful?


I am going to share a bit of fundie bible hatred with you. Before I do, I want to contrast that with a thoughtful piece by Reagent Post.

If you haven’t seen it yet, please take a moment to read My meaning of life.

Having done that, you’ll understand how very, very wrong is the thinking that follows.

To define the term:

Annihilationism (also known as extinctionism or destructionism[1]) is a Christian belief that apart from salvation the final punishment of human beings results in their total destruction (annihilation) rather than their everlasting torment.

Annihilationism asserts that God will eventually destroy or annihilate the wicked, leaving only the righteous to live on in immortality.

Source: wikipedia.org

So there is a line of thought that actually has god cutting those poor condemned souls a bit of slack by destroying them. Unfortunately, there are those who can tolerate no mercy from their all merciful and loving god.

The next bit is from Refuting annihilationism

image

Since we already refuted five proof texts for annihilationism in the last posts, I would like to refute the system as a whole.

The Bible makes it clear hell is eternal, and the lake of fire is eternal.

To argue any other way is to deny the Scriptures. So lets get started.

I really believe Reagent Post has a far superior view on life. He offers a view that integrates responsibility, positivity, self determination, and most importantly does not require murder, torture, everlasting bullshit, or hatred.

2 thoughts on “Your god Makes You This Hateful?

  1. Interesting post and I’m glad you enjoyed my thoughts.

    It’s interesting, this is only the second time I’ve heard of annihilationism. The first time I heard of it was when I was reading ‘letters to a skeptic’. To be honest I would much prefer the doctrine of annihilationism over the doctrine of hell. The idea of torturing someone for all eternity is nothing but evil in my mind. I’m not at all advocating annihilationism, but from a moral perspective it’s not as ridiculous as doom. The fact that the idea of hell can be taken seriously by some shows just how much hatred man is capable of, and hatred for their fellow man at that. I wish it wasn’t so.

    “Unfortunately, there are those who can tolerate no mercy from their all merciful and loving god.” Very well put. Amazing.

    Kindest regards my friend

    • Yeah, I’m right there with you. It struck me that this guy was working so hard (five lessons?) to make his case against annihilationism. As if he had an emotional need for his position to be correct. Getting that caught up in something so fundamentally hateful is sick.

      I need to do a piece on word made up by christians. “Annihilationism” is contrived and feels like something a second grader might do to impress the teacher.

      Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

